Firekeeper's Daughter

by

Firekeeper's Daughter (Hardcover, Henry Holt & Company)

Hardcover, 496 pages

Published by Henry Holt & Company.

ISBN:
9781250766564

5 star (1 review)

Debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

As a biracial, unenrolled tribal member and the product of a scandal, eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. Daunis dreams of studying medicine, but when her family is struck by tragedy, she puts her future on hold to care for her fragile mother.

The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team. Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, certain details don’t add up and she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into the heart of a criminal investigation.

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, but …

White Person reviewing an Indigenous YA / NA book

5 star

CW: Gun violence, death drugs, sexual assault, racism, slurs, and microaggressions; minor homophobia;' spoilers for the entire book