The Fifth Column

And Four Stories of the Spanish Civil War

Hardcover, 176 pages

English language

Published July 30, 2007 by Atria Books.

OCLC Number:

View on OpenLibrary

No rating (0 reviews)

The Fifth Column and Four Stories of the Spanish Civil War is a collection of works by Ernest Hemingway. It contains Hemingway's only full length play, The Fifth Column, which was previously published along with the First Forty-Nine Stories in 1938, along with four unpublished works about Hemingway's experiences during the Spanish Civil War.

The four stories are about the Spanish Civil War: The Denunciation, The Butterfly and the Tank, Night Before Battle, and Under The Ridge. Chicote's bar and the Hotel Florida in Madrid are recurrent settings in these stories.

9 editions


  • 20th Century American Drama
  • Hemingway, Ernest, 1899-1961
  • Drama
  • Plays
  • Literary
  • War & Military
  • Fiction - General
  • War
  • American