Player One

Published April 11, 2010 by Anansi.

ISBN:
978-0-88784-968-8
Copied ISBN!
OCLC Number:
555627715

View on OpenLibrary

4 stars (5 reviews)

Coupland's 2010 Massey Lecture is a real-time, five-hour story set in an airport cocktail lounge during a global disaster. Five disparate people are trapped inside: Karen, a single mother waiting for her online date; Rick, the down-on-his-luck airport lounge bartender; Luke, a pastor on the run; Rachel, a cool Hitchcock blonde incapable of true human contact; and finally a mysterious voice known as Player One. Slowly, each reveals the truth about themselves while the world as they know it comes to an end.

In the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and J. G. Ballard, Coupland explores the modern crises of time, human identity, society, religion, and the afterlife. The book asks as many questions as it answers, and readers will leave the story with no doubt that we are in a new phase of existence as a species -- and that there is no turning back.

1 edition

avatar for cmonster

rated it

4 stars
avatar for babamatmat

rated it

5 stars
avatar for nwale

rated it

4 stars
avatar for revernau

rated it

3 stars
avatar for Archbishop

rated it

4 stars