No cover

Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 3 (Paperback, 1980, DAW)


English language

Published March 4, 1980 by DAW.

Copied ISBN!
OCLC Number:

View on OpenLibrary

4 stars (1 review)

Mechanical Mice - novelette by Maurice G. Hugi and Eric Frank Russell (variant of The Mechanical Mice) [as by Maurice A. Hugi] Shottle Bop - novelette by Theodore Sturgeon The Rocket of 1955 - short story by C. M. Kornbluth Evolution's End - short story by Robert Arthur Microcosmic God - novelette by Theodore Sturgeon Jay Score - short story by Eric Frank Russell Liar! - short story by Isaac Asimov Time Wants a Skeleton - novella by Ross Rocklynne The Words of Guru - short story by C. M. Kornbluth The Seesaw - short story by A. E. van Vogt Armageddon - short story by Fredric Brown Adam and No Eve - short story by Alfred Bester Solar Plexus - short story by James Blish Nightfall - novelette by Isaac Asimov A Gnome There Was - novelette by Henry Kuttner and C. L. Moore Snulbug - short story by …

3 editions

Review of 'Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 3' on 'Goodreads'

4 stars

A cynic once said something like "The Golden Age of science fiction is about sixteen."

But they're wrong. 1941 was the heart of the Golden Age of science fiction. And this book is the proof.

If you've read a fair selection of classic SF, some of these stories will doubtless be familiar to you. Others probably won't be. In any case, these are some of the all-time classics of the genre.

Each story is introduced by Isaac Asimov, and he provides some interesting (and tantalizing) commentary. I can't help but wonder, for example, why he included Fredric Brown (one of my favorite writers) as an author whose personality was different from his stories (as opposed to authors who resembled their stories, some of whom he also lists). I was surprised and pleased to see that Asimov was, like me, a fan of Robert Arthur as well - although I have …


  • Fiction / General