User Profile

sarah

wynkenhimself@bookwyrm.social

Joined 1 year, 11 months ago

dorking around with old books for work and reading new books for fun; you can find me anywhere as wynkenhimself; she/her

This link opens in a pop-up window

sarah's books

Currently Reading (View all 6)

View all books

2022 Reading Goal

90% complete! sarah has read 45 of 50 books.

User Activity

Northanger Abbey (2003) 3 stars

Northanger Abbey is a coming-of-age novel and a satire of Gothic novels written by Jane …

ok, it's possible I didn't like that Charlie Lovett book because I've been listening to Northanger Abbey in slow drips for months now and I just love it and there's no imitating her voice even if you're a genius writer

The Overstory (2019, W. W. Norton & Company) 5 stars

The Overstory, winner of the Pulitzer Prize in Fiction, is a sweeping, impassioned work of …

let it rewrite your relationship to trees and time

5 stars

This book pulled me into its world of trees and gutted me. I loved the richly drawn human characters and the stories they and the author tell about and learn from trees. I didn’t love the whiteness of the book, but also the relationship Powers describes between people and trees is a particularly white western one—some sense of indigenous stewardship before the end would have made that less irksome. But the book is beautiful and devastating to read, and I can’t stop thinking about trees.

Trust (2022, Penguin Publishing Group) 4 stars

I knew where it was going, but a good ride

4 stars

I didn’t love this the way I did Diaz’s first book—this one felt a bit more obvious in how it was going to go about telling the story I could feel it wanted to tell about money. But it was also a good story, so I forgave some of its faults

No fond return of love (2009, Windsor) 4 stars

"Dulcie Mainwearing is always helping others, but never looks out for herself - especially in …

infuriating characters, amazing book

4 stars

I loved this! I did want to shake just about every single character for one thing or another but also I couldn’t stop reading it. This is much like how I feel about every Barbara Pym I’ve read, and I’m clearly going to need to read more. Extra points for being about indexers and writers.

Department of Rare Books and Special Collections (2022, Cengage Gale) 2 stars

What holds more secrets in the library: the ancient books shelved in the stacks or …

surprisingly horrid

2 stars

My BookishBookClub chose this as one of our fiction reads and wow we did not like it, and wow do I feel badly for my Fisher Library friends. Just not how libraries work and even worse, really bad about depression, and everyone is mean. Also, did I mention that libraries don't work this way and her account of the key Plantin polyglot is just weird? two stars because there's some nuggets in there but ymmv

Satisfaction Guaranteed (2021, Grand Central Publishing) 4 stars

For fans of Casey McQuiston and Abby Jimenez comes a bold, hilarious, and out-of-the-box novel …

sex positive queer women in love

4 stars

This was delightful, hits all the spots, if those spots are wanting to read a fun and sex-positive romance. One of the leads runs an art gallery and those details seem patently ridiculous, but the more important thing is that the other lead is a sex educator and they jointly inherit a failing sex toy shop. Will they fall in love? Will art gallery woman learn to enjoy sex? Will sex educator accept herself and her artistic talents? Of course!! And that’s one of the joys of reading this.

Persuasion (Paperback, 2004, Oxford World's Classics (Oxford University Press)) 4 stars

Persuasion tells the love story of Anne Elliot and Captain Frederick Wentworth, whose sister rents …

no notes, just perfect

5 stars

rereading Jane Austen, as one does, and I just adore this one. Choose your Jane fighter and I will always choose Anne Elliott.