This Census-Taker: A Novel

paperback, 272 pages

Published Jan. 3, 2017 by Del Rey.

ISBN:
9781101967348

View on OpenLibrary

3 stars (4 reviews)

"For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Mieville. In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. He tries--and fails--to flee. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape. When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over. But by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? What is the purpose behind his questions? Is he friend? Enemy? Or something else altogether? Filled with beauty, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of memory and identity"--

"After his mother goes missing, a boy is left alone in a remote house …

5 editions

avatar for ansate

rated it

2 stars
avatar for whami

rated it

1 star
avatar for danwchan

rated it

5 stars