User Profile

Tsundoku

lapis@bookwyrm.social

Joined 5 months ago

11 followers, 10 following

Aspiring Writer, Voracious Reader, Crocheter of many things, Very Autistic

(Pronouns: they / them) Mainly reads: Young Adult (contemporary, sci-fi or fantasy), Japanese Literature, Romance, and Fantasy / Sci-fi for adults

Tsundoku's books

View all books

2021 Reading Goal

72% complete! Tsundoku has read 18 of 25 books.

User Activity

Tsundoku reviewed And I Darken

This is dark, as expected

5 star

CW: Gore, torture, violence

And I Darken (paperback, 2016, Delacorte Pr)

5 star

And I Darken by Kiersten White

NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to …

Tsundoku finished reading And I Darken

And I Darken (paperback, 2016, Delacorte Pr)

5 star

And I Darken by Kiersten White

NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to …

Tsundoku reviewed Firekeeper's Daughter

White Person reviewing an Indigenous YA / NA book

5 star

CW: Gun violence, death drugs, sexual assault, racism, slurs, and microaggressions; minor homophobia;' spoilers for the entire book

Firekeeper's Daughter (Hardcover, Henry Holt & Company)

5 star

Firekeeper's Daughter by Angeline Boulley

Debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

As a biracial, unenrolled tribal member and the product of a scandal, eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. …

Tsundoku finished reading Firekeeper's Daughter

Firekeeper's Daughter (Hardcover, Henry Holt & Company)

5 star

Firekeeper's Daughter by Angeline Boulley

Debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

As a biracial, unenrolled tribal member and the product of a scandal, eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. …

Tsundoku started reading Burnout

Burnout (2020, Ebury Publishing)

No rating

Burnout by Emily Nagoski, Amelia Nagoski

This groundbreaking book explains why women experience burnout differently than men - and provides a simple, science-based plan to help women minimize stress, manage emotions and live a more joyful life.

The gap between what it's really like to be a woman and what people expect women to be is a primary cause of burnout, because we exhaust ourselves trying …

Tsundoku started reading Firekeeper's Daughter

Firekeeper's Daughter (Hardcover, Henry Holt & Company)

5 star

Firekeeper's Daughter by Angeline Boulley

Debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

As a biracial, unenrolled tribal member and the product of a scandal, eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. …

Tsundoku reviewed The Kingdom of Back

Portal Fantasy that makes me think "What If"

4 star

Therefore it is doing its job. I hope we one day conclusively find Nannerl Mozart's compositions.

The Kingdom of Back (Hardcover, 2020, G. P. Putnam's Sons, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC)

4 star

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish: to be remembered forever. But even as she delights audiences with her masterful playing, she has little hope she'll ever become the acclaimed composer she longs to be. She is a young woman in eighteenth-century Europe, and that means composing is forbidden to her. She will perform only …

Tsundoku finished reading The Kingdom of Back

The Kingdom of Back (Hardcover, 2020, G. P. Putnam's Sons, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC)

4 star

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish: to be remembered forever. But even as she delights audiences with her masterful playing, she has little hope she'll ever become the acclaimed composer she longs to be. She is a young woman in eighteenth-century Europe, and that means composing is forbidden to her. She will perform only …

avatar for lapis Tsundoku boosted

loppear reviewed Concrete Rose

Fitting prequel, without too much overlap

4 star

Wonderful voice to a teenager growing up fast, and a real sense of agency, mistakes, and learning. Lightly set in the past, strikes a good balance of nostalgia and relevance.

Concrete Rose (hardcover, 2021, Balzer + Bray)

4.5 stars

Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas

If there’s one thing seventeen-year-old Maverick Carter knows, it’s that a real man takes care of his family. As the son of a former gang legend, Mav does that the only way he knows how: dealing for the King Lords. With this money he can help his mom, who works two jobs while his dad’s in prison. Life’s not perfect, …

Tsundoku commented on The Kingdom of Back

(29%)

I recommend putting on Mozart music and listening. It'd be better if we had Nannerl's compositions but we don't, at least that we know of.

The Kingdom of Back (Hardcover, 2020, G. P. Putnam's Sons, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC)

4 star

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish: to be remembered forever. But even as she delights audiences with her masterful playing, she has little hope she'll ever become the acclaimed composer she longs to be. She is a young woman in eighteenth-century Europe, and that means composing is forbidden to her. She will perform only …

Tsundoku started reading The Kingdom of Back

The Kingdom of Back (Hardcover, 2020, G. P. Putnam's Sons, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC)

4 star

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish: to be remembered forever. But even as she delights audiences with her masterful playing, she has little hope she'll ever become the acclaimed composer she longs to be. She is a young woman in eighteenth-century Europe, and that means composing is forbidden to her. She will perform only …

Tsundoku started reading And I Darken

And I Darken (paperback, 2016, Delacorte Pr)

5 star

And I Darken by Kiersten White

NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to …