The Illuminatus! Trilogy

The Eye in the Pyramid, the Golden Apple, and Leviathan

Hardcover, 816 pages

English language

Published Feb. 13, 1998 by MJF Books.

OCLC Number:

View on OpenLibrary

5 stars (6 reviews)

The Illuminatus! Trilogy is a series of three novels by American writers Robert Shea and Robert Anton Wilson, first published in 1975.[1] The trilogy is a satirical, postmodern, science fiction-influenced adventure story; a drug-, sex-, and magic-laden trek through a number of conspiracy theories, both historical and imaginary, related to the authors' version of the Illuminati. The narrative often switches between third- and first-person perspectives in a nonlinear narrative. It is thematically dense, covering topics like counterculture, numerology, and Discordianism.

The trilogy comprises three parts which contain five books and appendices: [The Eye in the Pyramid (][1]first two books), [The Golden Apple][2] (third and part of fourth book), [Leviathan][3] (part of fourth and all of fifth book, and the appendices). The parts were first published as three separate volumes starting in September 1975. In 1984 they were published as an omnibus edition and are now more commonly reprinted in the …

3 editions

I rate it 23 out of 23 golden apples.

5 stars

Every time I get summoned for jury duty, I bring this book with me to read while I wait. I have never been picked to sit on a jury. Is this a coincidence? Is this blind luck? Is this evidence of a (dare I say it) conspiracy? I don't know and I don't care, because I still get paid for showing up. Whether or not this book will get you out of social obligations and court appearances is up for debate, but it helped ME build my own solid gold submarine.

avatar for quirk

rated it

4 stars
avatar for Trentie

rated it

4 stars
avatar for maese_richar

rated it

4 stars
avatar for WanderingLens

rated it

5 stars
avatar for Libbum

rated it

5 stars


  • Science Fiction - General
  • Sale Books
  • Science Fiction
  • Fiction - Science Fiction