The Girl with All the Gifts

, #1

Paperback, 403 pages

English language

Published June 19, 2014 by Orbit.

ISBN:
978-0-356-50015-7
Copied ISBN!

View on OpenLibrary

4 stars (109 reviews)

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her "our little genius."

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

1 edition

Review of 'The Girl with All the Gifts' on 'LibraryThing'

4 stars

This book does great things with a totally cliched premise. At first it was just the tight, evocative, perfectly paced writing that kept me enjoying it, but ultimately it took the story in a much more interesting direction than the expectation the initial premise gave me.

Content warning: in the first few pages there is a scene chillingly reminiscent of the Holocaust. I don't think that's accidental, and I do think it's actually appropriate for where the book will ultimately go, but I wish I'd been warned about it because I had a really intense visceral reaction to that.

Review of 'The Girl with All the Gifts' on 'LibraryThing'

4 stars

This book does great things with a totally cliched premise. At first it was just the tight, evocative, perfectly paced writing that kept me enjoying it, but ultimately it took the story in a much more interesting direction than the expectation the initial premise gave me.

Content warning: in the first few pages there is a scene chillingly reminiscent of the Holocaust. I don't think that's accidental, and I do think it's actually appropriate for where the book will ultimately go, but I wish I'd been warned about it because I had a really intense visceral reaction to that.

reviewed The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey (The Girl with All the Gifts, #1)

Review of 'The Girl with All the Gifts' on 'Goodreads'

5 stars

I don't like horror at all, and I'm really tired of zombie stories, but nonetheless I really enjoyed this book. Set in a post-zombie-apocalypse England, the story follows a very small number of characters centering around Melanie, a child born after the zombie plague outbreak (they're never actually called zombies in the book, but "the hungry" -- but they're reanimated mindless deceased with an irresistable instinct to eat living flesh, so yeah zombies). When the story starts, Melanie and her classmates are essentially imprisoned in an army camp where doctors are trying to study the cause of the plague and to find a cure. The story starts from Melanie's perspective so neither she nor the reader understand exactly what's going on -- she's never known anything different from this world, and she knows only what the teachers tell her. The first part of the book is really hard to put …

reviewed The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey (The Girl with All the Gifts, #1)

Review of 'The Girl with All the Gifts' on 'Goodreads'

5 stars

This is a compulsively readable book you should not attempt if you are sensitive to animal/child harm, abuse toward children, genocide, or the end of human life on earth.

Um.

I liked that the book went there, but if you're not gonna like it, fail out early because it gets grimmer.

So the relationship that pulls you into this book is Melanie's crush on her teacher, Ms. Justineau. Melanie is quite young, and the crush is chaste, but she's carrying a torch the size of the Chicago fire of 1871. Unfortunately for Melanie, Ms Justineau, and all other humans, this takes place against the backdrop of the research centre at the end of the world, where she is a subject.

Over the course of the book Melanie learns why she is a research subject, what there is to be learned from her, and how far she will go for Ms. …

reviewed The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey (The Girl with All the Gifts, #1)

Review of 'The Girl with All the Gifts' on 'Goodreads'

3 stars

Totally not what I was expecting! I don't want to spoil you, because the book blurb is deliciously vague. Just enjoy your journey with Melanie, said Girl with All the Gifts, and let the story unfold.

It hits all of the good ingredients for me. Dystopian / post apocalyptic tale, survival, with a mysterious build-up and a VERY satisfying ending. I know some of you will disagree, but I liked it. 3 1/2 stars, and I think it would make a cool movie.

avatar for james

rated it

4 stars
avatar for FeloDeSe

rated it

3 stars
avatar for Elspeth

rated it

4 stars
avatar for MagneticCrow

rated it

4 stars
avatar for WillDHB

rated it

3 stars
avatar for krasnoukhov

rated it

5 stars
avatar for jdb

rated it

3 stars
avatar for Yogthos

rated it

5 stars
avatar for Joker

rated it

5 stars
avatar for Mollarom

rated it

3 stars
avatar for jaymeb

rated it

4 stars
avatar for Stonebender

rated it

4 stars
avatar for the_lirazel

rated it

4 stars
avatar for ajkerrigan

rated it

4 stars
avatar for wafonso

rated it

5 stars
avatar for knopwob

rated it

4 stars
avatar for SeaFury

rated it

4 stars
avatar for 73pctGeek

rated it

3 stars
avatar for mattmerk

rated it

4 stars
avatar for snarlinger

rated it

4 stars
avatar for BenCotterill

rated it

4 stars
avatar for greeen

rated it

3 stars
avatar for xianny

rated it

4 stars
avatar for Ivia

rated it

3 stars
avatar for MaryKat

rated it

5 stars
avatar for atheory

rated it

4 stars
avatar for fighting

rated it

5 stars
avatar for satyajit

rated it

4 stars
avatar for WonkoTheSane

rated it

4 stars
avatar for zumbador

rated it

5 stars
avatar for halkeye

rated it

3 stars
avatar for acaleyn

rated it

3 stars
avatar for Manzabar

rated it

4 stars
avatar for dx

rated it

3 stars
avatar for greystar

rated it

4 stars
avatar for chase

rated it

4 stars
avatar for gtco

rated it

5 stars
avatar for casocial

rated it

3 stars
avatar for HoneyBee

rated it

5 stars
avatar for philiporange

rated it

5 stars
avatar for dev_tea

rated it

4 stars
avatar for jamesbrooks

rated it

4 stars
avatar for nostalgia

rated it

3 stars
avatar for bookelf

rated it

4 stars
avatar for GooseThief

rated it

4 stars
avatar for hofo

rated it

4 stars
avatar for moohan

rated it

5 stars
avatar for elementaryflimflam

rated it

5 stars
avatar for Shepy

rated it

2 stars
avatar for Fantpmas

rated it

5 stars
avatar for ghostchaser

rated it

5 stars
avatar for Nikita

rated it

4 stars
avatar for tsukikage

rated it

5 stars
avatar for grislyeye

rated it

3 stars
avatar for robhedges

rated it

4 stars
avatar for chaos_angel

rated it

4 stars
avatar for tcgoetz

rated it

4 stars
avatar for BillieCodes

rated it

4 stars
avatar for Avarla

rated it

4 stars
avatar for 9bananas

rated it

5 stars
avatar for shawn

rated it

3 stars
avatar for faceleg

rated it

5 stars
avatar for jbaty

rated it

4 stars
avatar for hwebb

rated it

3 stars
avatar for Scopique

rated it

4 stars
avatar for kursis

rated it

3 stars
avatar for erinlcrane

rated it

3 stars
avatar for sciatrix

rated it

5 stars
avatar for Vacyyyy

rated it

5 stars
avatar for clementprdhomme

rated it

4 stars
avatar for Geekess

rated it

4 stars
avatar for stombeur

rated it

4 stars
avatar for HunterHeading

rated it

4 stars
avatar for rspavel

rated it

3 stars
avatar for RyanHyde

rated it

4 stars